

# **District Annual General Meeting**

# **Minutes**

## Thursday 29<sup>th</sup> September 2022 (20:00) – Marquee @ 1<sup>st</sup> Chineham Scout Group

#### Attendees

Alan Boddy Alec Coomber Alison Pinto Andrew Mullender Andrew Oliver Andy Cullen Carol Mann Carrie Miller Claire Hawkins Colin Karslake

#### Apologies

Alfred McCarthy Carina Silva Christel Dance Christopher Circuit claire cooke Emma Gibbons Helen Hillh James Maylen Jane Fraser

Jennie Henry

Craig Harris

Danny Evans

David Noble

David Page

David Wickens

Georgina Charlton

Hugh Oliver-Bellasis

Doug Gowan

Fiona Fraser

David Mullender

Jack Dilly Jack Tracy Jaison Miller Janice Lee Jean-Paul Keetch Julie Jacobs Katherine Witts Keith Hawkins Mandy Pain

lan Harrison

John Handford Kathryn Key Magda Esterhuyse Pam Byrne Paul Hogan-Williams Pete Byrne Phil Hawkins Philip Mullender Richard Green

Martin Lee

Matthew Pinto

Natalie Elliott

Nathan Robinson

Peach Barnes Rebekah Moffat Roger Heels Sam Domloge Sharon Duffy Robert Lock Rob Walker Vicky Evans Vicky Skidmore Yakeshwaran Sekar Zara Seymour

Tim Gibbons Toni Jones

#### Welcome & Agenda

Pete Byrne opened the meeting with some housekeeping notices, and welcomed everyone including our guests from County, the District President and award recipients.

Paul Bell

Paul Hedges

#### **Team DC**

Paul and Jack gave an update on what's happened over the past year, and where the District is now heading – a full report is available in the Annual Review hand-out. They also introduced the new wider District team, and thanked everyone for their support with growth, the District is above at Pre-Covid levels of membership, and adult membership is also on the rise.

#### **District Chair**

Pete Byrne thanked Jack and Paul (Team DC) for their updates, and said that he's looking forward to working alongside them on moving the District forwards over the coming year.

#### **Our Constitution**

Jack Tracy introduced the updated proposed constitution and explained why there is a proposal to change from the existing constitution which was voted in last year. Jack commented that this constitution had been voted on by all groups within the District via a previous meeting to bring to the AGM for acceptance. The key differences in constitution are:

- Deputy Chair must be aged 18 to 25 to give youth representation
- A representative from each group on the Board
- Ability to add specialist skills, such as HR/Legal via Co-Opted members
- Removing the full Senior Leadership Team from the board, so only the DC/DYC sit on both, this is to help ensure accountability between the two groups of volunteers.



- Ability to remove members by vote used for non-meeting attendance.
- And finally to bring it back inline with standard practice in POR

A copy of the constitution can be found in the Annual Review on the back pages.

This was approved unanimously with a show of hands, and this constitution will now be carried.

#### **Board of Trustees**

The meeting then moved onto the appointment of trustees based on the new constitution.

Role	Туре	Name	Proposed By	Seconded By	Approved
District Chair	Officer	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Keith Hawkins	Unanimously
District Secretary	Officer	Vacant			Unanimously
District Treasurer	Officer	Carol Mann	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Team DC	Ex-Officio	Paul Hogan-Williams			
Team DC	Ex-Officio	Jack Tracy			
DYC	Ex-Officio	Jack Dilly			
Chair – 1 <sup>st</sup> Basingstoke	Elected	Robert Walker	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Chair – 2 <sup>nd</sup> Basingstoke	Elected	Keith Kaggs	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Chair – 6 <sup>th</sup> Basingstoke	Elected	John Purdy	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Secretary – 11 <sup>th</sup> Basinstoke	Elected	Yakeshwaran Sekfar	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Chair – 1 <sup>st</sup> Chineham	Elected	Christopher Cricuit	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Chair – 1 <sup>st</sup> Popley	Elected	Alan Boddy	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
Chair – Bramley	Elected	Andrew Oliver	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Unanimously
GSL – 7 <sup>th</sup> Basingstoke	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – 8 <sup>th</sup> Basingstoke	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – Air Scouts	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – Old Basing	Nominated				Unanimously
Explorer Leader (Yeti ESU)	Nominated				Unanimously

#### **Finances**

The accounts for the District are available as part of the annual report, and explorer accounts are available online on the AGM page.

A parent asked why Explorers were being asked for money for evenings when there is money in the account, and if they could see 2022 accounts and it was commented that these would be available at the next AGM. They also asked regarding badges, and it was agreed to discuss after the meeting.

Pete Byrne asked for a vote of acceptance on the accounts and this was done unanimously with a show of hands.

Carol Mann proposed Ian Scott as the Auditor for 2023, and this was seconded by Paul Hogan-Williams and accepted unanimously with a show of hands.



### **District Youth Commissioner**

Jack Dilly introduced himself and commented that he was looking forward to getting out there and working with young people to help shape Scouting in Basingstoke East.

#### Awards

The following awards were presented:

- Andrew Cullen Chief Scout's 30 years Service Award
- Carrie Miller Wood Badge (Section Leader Beaver Scouts)
- Colin Karslake Chief Scout's 25 years Service Award
- David Noble Chief Scout's Commendation for Good Service
- David Wickens Chief Scout's 30 years Service Award
- Douglas Gowan Wood Badge (Assistant Group Scout Leader)
- Hugh Olivier-Bellasis Chief Scout's 40 years Service Award
- Ian Harrison Award for Merit
- Ian Harrison Chief Scout's 40 years Service Award
- Jean-Paul Keetch Chief Scout's 25 years Service Award
- Kate Boddy Chief Scout's 5 years Service Award
- Natalie Elliott Chief Scout's 5 years Service Award

Jack also presented a special gift to the previous appointments committee panel (Janice Lee, Ian Harrison, David Wickens and Beryl Mullender) for the work they did over many years for the District, and also thanked Beryls family for attending to collect this award on her behalf.

The final award was the "District Star" award which was introduced in the previous year to recognise the work of volunteers who go unnoticed, and this was presented to Carol Mann (District Treasurer).

#### **County Commissioner**

Unfortunately, the County Commissioner was unable to attend and therefore Keith Hawkins attended on his behalf and spoke about the work that County are doing to support Districts.

#### AOB

There was no AOB declared at the meeting.

#### Closing

Pete Byrne closed the meeting by thanking everyone for attending, and that they could help themselves to food outside and catch-up around the fire.

#### Date of 2023 AGM

The date of the next years AGM would be Thursday 8<sup>th</sup> June 2023.