

District Annual General Meeting

Minutes

Monday 5th June 2023 (19:30) – Everest Community Academy

Attendees / Apologies

A full list of attendees/apologies can be requested by emailing secretary@bescouts.org.uk.

Welcome & Agenda

Pete Byrne opened the meeting with some housekeeping notices, and welcomed everyone including our guests from Basingstoke West and run through the evenings agenda.

District Chair

Pete Byrne addressed the meeting, a full report can be found in the Annual Report.

Team DC

Paul Hogan-Williams and Jack Tracy addressed the meeting, a full report can be found in the Annual Report.

Previous Minutes

Pete Byrne proposed the minutes from the previous AGM as being correct, and this was accepted unanimously with a show of hands.

Our Constitution

Paul Hogan-Williams updated everyone that due to some changes in POR, our constitution needed to be tweaked and this was available online for everyone to see before the meeting, and available on the QR code when arriving. These changes had been ratified and approved by the District Trustee Board, and the updated constitution was accepted unanimously with a show of hands.

Board of Trustees

The meeting then moved onto the appointment of trustees:

Role	Туре	Name	Proposed By	Seconded By	Approved
District Chair	Officer	Pete Byrne	Paul H-W	Jack Tracy	Unanimously
District Secretary	Officer	Vacant			Unanimously
District Treasurer	Officer	Carol Mann	Pete Byrne	Keith Bull	Unanimously
Team District Commissioner	Ex-Officio	Paul Hogan-			
		Williams			
District Youth Commissioner	Ex-Officio	Jack Dilly			
Network Commissioner	Ex-Officio	Daria Cooker			
Chair – 1 st Popley	Elected	Alan Boddy	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously
Chair – 1 st Chineham	Elected	Chris Circuit	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously
Chair – 6 th Basingstoke	Elected	John Purdy	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously
Chair – 1 st Basingstoke	Elected	Robert Walker	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously
Rep – 11 th Basingstoke	Elected	Yakesh Sekar	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously



Rep – 2 nd Basingstoke	Elected	Colin Casey	Jane Fraser	Tim Gibbons	Unanimously
Team District Commissioner	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL -7 th Basingstoke	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – Old Basing	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – 8 th Basingstoke	Nominated				Unanimously
GSL – Air Scouts	Nominated				Unanimously
Explorer Rep (Yeti)	Co-Opted	Katherine Witts	Unanimously I	by Board Member	S

Appointment of Presidents

Pete Byrne also confirmed that we need to re-elect our president (Hugh Oliver-Bellasis) and vice-president (Robert Lock), and this was accepted unanimously with a show of hands.

Finances

Carol introduce the District Accounts which available as part of the annual report, along with our explorer accounts.

Pete Byrne asked for a vote of acceptance on the accounts and this was done unanimously with a show of hands.

Carol Mann proposed Ian Scott as the Examiner for 2024, and this was seconded by Rob Walker and accepted unanimously with a show of hands.

District Youth Commissioner

Jack Dilly addressed the meeting, a full report can be found in the Annual Report.

AOB

Pete Byrne asked for any other business, and Colin Casey asked about what support can District provide with regards to activities and Jack said he'll pick this up with Quintin (Group Scout Leader).

Closing

Pete Byrne closed the meeting by thanking everyone for attending.

Date of 2024 AGM

The date of the next years AGM would be Monday 3rd June 2024.